Summer juices…

I have always liked juices– especially in the summer.  On a steaming hot day, nothing sounds better to me than an ice cold apple juice or smoothie. Lucky for me, living in New York, eateries supplying such drinks can be found on almost every corner. What can’t always be found is a place that makes juices and smoothies that are completely natural.

Last Thursday, while wandering through the streets of the East Village on my way to Pas de Deux (to visit my very good friend Amy), I caught my first glimpse of Liquiteria: an all natural juice and food stop-and-go on the corner of East 11th and Second Avenue.    Walking back down  East 11th Street after my visit, glistening (so I like to call it) in the humidity, I decided to pop in to grab a smoothie for lunch. Upon entering, I think my heart skipped a beat.  Mecca!

To jump to the point, in the present:

Liquiteria’s menu is overwhelming.  I don’t think any person in their right mind could ever possibly know where to begin…  Offering freshly pressed juices, blended smoothies, and a wonderful assortment of soups and sandwiches, all of the ingredients are completely fresh. The vegetables and fruits used for juices and smoothies are put into a machine right in front of you and pressed together.  Liquiteria also offers a selection of 5 liquid “assets” and 12 “supplements” to add to your drink. Upset stomach? Try adding the Aloe Vera. Breathing problems? The answer is cayenne.

I must have stood there for about ten minutes figuring out just what I wanted. 

I decided on a pressed juice- something to cleanse. The “Royal Flush” seemed pretty good: a combination of pineapple, pear, ginger and aloe vera. I waited all but 3 minutes for my drink to be made, and upon the first sip, knew immediately it was just what I had wanted. Perfection.

How this place has been around since 1992 without my knowledge? I think an obsession might be developing….

Liqueteria – 170 2nd Ave New York, NY 10003-5793 – (212) 358-0300 – Open Weekdays 8am-8pm; Weekends 9am-8pm

2 Comments

Filed under YUM

2 responses to “Summer juices…

  1. Amy

    Liquiteria is addictive. Russel Simmons is there like everyday.

  2. you know whats really weird? my mom and i went here on one of our excursions thru nyc a few summers ago..might have been last…and tasted this amazing smoothie on a hot summer day, we have been trying to find the place ever since…so funny that i just clicked onto your blog for the first time and its here yayyyy for fate-i cant wait to have that smoothie and a veggie sandwich 🙂
    so thanks!

Leave a comment